Engage in a zero energy project

Design & build

The construction of a zero energy building requires taking into account the energy dimension from the project decision phase.

 

In the case of a new construction, three aspects are particularly important:

  • The potential of photovoltaic production.
  • The orientation of the building to optimize solar gains.
  • Potential access to geothermal resources.

 

When it comes to a renovation project, urbanistic constraints, such as the impossibility of external insulation on facade visible for the street, can be decisive.

Main project steps

Design & build

Economic evaluation of the project

 

Building a zero-energy building is an economically important decision that must be evaluated over a reasonable tenure (25 years on average) and take into account the conditions for financing bank credit.

 

By taking as a reference a building built to the minimum energy standards allowed, it will be estimated, over the period selected, the energy savings expected in the proposed zero energy project. In the end the balance of the savings will have to exceed the additional costs associated with the technical choices of the project: quality of the windows, performance and thickness of the insulators, control of the points of attention …

 

In order to estimate potential gains, the estimate will be based on current energy prices. On the other hand, it will be taken into account that a zero energy building require less powerful and therefore less expensiveheating equipment .

 

In practice, the price of energy varies with the economy and is subject to inflation. In the likely assumption of an upward trend over the next years energy consumption savings will become increasingly interesting : Building a building with very high energy performance can therefore be considered as an insurance against the risk of an increase in the price of energy. It should be noted in this regard that the increase in the carbon tax as plan by COP21 to combat global warming will ultimately lead (2030) to an increase in the gas bill by more than 50%.

 

It should be noted, however, that a zero energy building is not fully protected from changes in the price of energy . In fact, it remains connected to the electricity grid and generally buys the electricity it needs at night or on gray winter days. However, the high cost of this additional electricity is hardly offset by the purchase of surplus electricity returned to the grid on sunny days. In order to minimize this gap, maximum self-consumption rate for photovoltaic energy should be targeted. Thus it is recommended to operate electrical devices when photovoltaic production is at its peak (often in the middle of the day). The management of the heat pumps will be optimized by exploiting the thermal inertia of the building and the domestic hot water tanks will be used for temporary storage.

Building design
for high energy performance

Design & build

1 : Focus on natural inputs

Focus on natural inputs

The building must be designed to make the most of natural resources:
This will reduce glass surfaces on the north facade. Indeed, not receiving directly the sun, they do not contribute to the “greenhouse effect” that naturally warms the home.

 

On the other hand, protecting the south-facing bay windows with sunscreens can help prevent overheating while letting the lower winter sun penetrate.

 

Note that, from an heating point of view, the interior shutters are preferable to integrated shutters which generally weaken the insulation.

Design & build

2 : 
Insulation and airtightness

Insulation and airtightness

The energy performance of a building depends closely on a set of factors that will be carefully studied :

  • The thermal insulation of the building envelope is essential: walls, frames, roofs, foundations. Thermal losses being proportional to the inside / outside temperature difference, the exchange surface must be minimized (compact building) and the insulation coefficient optimized (homogeneous insulation characteristics between elements).
  • Thermal breaks must be avoided. Note that external insulation leaves much less room for thermal bridges than interior insulation.
  • Airtightness is both essential and technically difficult to ensure over the life of the building. In this respect, cast concrete achieves remarkable performance. The installation of the windows frame is a delicate practice that must be controlled at the end of the building with the help of a thermal camera.
Design & build

3 : 
Choice of thermal techniques

Choice of thermal techniques

The choice of the all electric is the simplest because it makes it possible to easily deal with the possible problems of summer overheating . For single-family houses the pellet stove with natural ventilation is a possible alternative but it requires to properly distribute the heat produced in all rooms.

More details on the main equipment :

  • Heat pump (PAC): Air/air heat pumps are the easiest to implement. However, they require the use of an additional thermodynamic water tanks. Geothermal energy is more efficient but also more expensive and cooling problems are more difficult to deal with.</ Li>
  • Thermodynamic water tank: It should be considered when there is no water/water or air/water type heat pump.
  • Controlled Mechanical Ventilation (CMV) with double flow. A double flow CMV ensures a constant renewal of the air by extracting the stale air from the humid rooms and pulsing fresh air in all other rooms. Thanks to its internal heat exchanger CMV double flux recovers more than 90% of the heat of the stale air to warm the new incoming air. It is thus possible to renew the air of a home without cooling it.

Simplicity and durability

It should be noted that simple designs are the easiest to implement and maintain . They are also the most robust. In particular, we will try to avoid technological inter dependencies so that each technical element can be operated independently of the others.
There is no need to invest in sophisticated thermal control systems ; a central thermostat with fixed setpoint is sufficient. Indeed a zero energy building whose heating is cut will lose less than half a degree per day in the middle of winter. The average indoor temperature is therefore extremely stable. It fluctuates naturally between day and night by one or two degrees around a stable average. This behavior results from the CMV effect which balances the cooler outside air by around eight degrees at night and the possible solar gains in the middle of the day.

Design & build

4 : Low energy equipments

Low energy equipments

 

The more demanding zero energy goal requires the use of household appliances and low-energy lighting (A+, A++ or A+++).

 

As a benchmark, note that a European household consumes on average 1800 kWh/year for domestic use (lighting, appliances, televisions and other electronic devices …). If it makes the choice of ultra low consumption equipment (A +++) its consumption can be reduced by a third, which corresponds approximately to the annual production of two photovoltaic panels.

 

We also recommend the use of heat recuperators positioned at the outlet of the shower tray to heat incoming water.

 

Similarly, connecting the dishwasher directly to hot water saves up to 200 kWh per year, without additional installation cost or use constraints.

S’engager dans un projet zéro énergie

Concevoir & construire

La construction d’un logement zéro énergie impose de prendre en compte la dimension énergétique du projet dès la phase de décision.

 

En effet le potentiel en énergie renouvelable du site d’implantation du bâtiment est un élément essentiel dans l’atteinte des objectifs espérés.

Dans le cas d’une construction neuve, trois aspects sont particulièrement importants :

  • Le potentiel de production photovoltaïque.
  • L’orientation du bâtiment afin d'optimiser les apports solaires.
  • L’accès éventuel à des ressources géothermiques.

 

Lorsqu’il s’agit d’un projet de rénovation, les contraintes urbanistiques, telles que l’impossibilité d’isolation extérieure des façades visibles de la rue, peuvent être déterminantes.

Les étapes clés d’un projet

Concevoir & construire

Évaluation économique du projet

 

Construire un bâtiment zéro énergie est une décision économiquement importante qui doit être évaluée sur une durée d’occupation raisonnable (25 ans en moyenne) et tenir compte des conditions de financement du crédit bancaire.

 

En prenant pour référence un bâtiment construit aux normes énergétiques minimales admises, on estimera, sur la période retenue, les économies d’énergie attendues dans le projet zéro énergie envisagé. Au final le bilan des économies devra excéder les surcoûts associés aux choix techniques du projet : qualité des châssis, performance et épaisseurs des isolants, contrôles des points d’attention…

 

Afin d’estimer les gains potentiels on basera l’estimation sur les prix actuels de l’énergie. D’autre part on tiendra compte du fait qu’un bâtiment zéro énergie accueille des équipements de chauffage moins puissants et donc moins onéreux.

 

En pratique le prix de l’énergie varie avec la conjoncture et il est soumis à l’inflation. Dans l’hypothèse probable d’une évolution à la hausse au cours des prochaines années les économies de consommation énergétique deviendront de plus en plus intéressantes dans la durée : Construire un bâtiment à très haute performance énergétique peut donc être considéré comme une assurance vis-à-vis des risques d’augmentation du cours de l’énergie. On notera à cet égard que l’augmentation de la taxe carbone telle que prévue par la COP21 pour lutter contre le réchauffement climatique conduira à terme (2030) à une augmentation de la facture de gaz de plus de 50%.

 

On doit cependant remarquer qu’un bâtiment zéro énergie n’est pas totalement protégé des variations du cours de l’énergie. En effet il reste connecté au réseau électrique et achète généralement l’électricité dont il a besoin la nuit ou les jours d’hiver gris. Or le coût élevé de cette électricité complémentaire est difficilement compensé par le rachat des surplus d’électricité renvoyés au réseau les jours ensoleillés. Afin de minimiser ce décalage, il convient de viser un taux d’autoconsommation de l’énergie photovoltaïque le plus élevé possible. Ainsi il est recommandé de faire fonctionner les appareils électriques lorsque la production photovoltaïque est à son pic (souvent en milieu de journée). La gestions des pompes à chaleur sera optimisé en exploitant l’inertie thermique du bâtiment et les ballons d’eau chaude sanitaire seront utilisés pour stockage temporaire.

Conception d’un bâtiment
à très haute performance énergétique

Concevoir & construire

1 : Privilégier les apports naturels

Privilégier les apports naturels

L’habitation sera pensée pour tirer profit au maximum des apports naturels :
Ainsi on réduira les surfaces vitrées en façade nord. En effet, ne recevant pas directement le soleil, elles ne contribuent pas à « l’effet de serre » qui réchauffe naturellement l’habitation.

 

En revanche, la protection des baies vitrées en façade sud par des pare-soleil peut aider à prévenir les surchauffes tout en laissant pénétrer le soleil d’hiver plus bas sur l’horizon.

 

On notera que, du point de vue du chauffage, les occultants intérieurs sont préférables aux volets roulants intégrés qui affaiblissent généralement l’isolation.

Concevoir & construire

2 : Isolation et étanchéité a l’air

Isolation et étanchéité a l’air

Les performances énergétiques d’un bâtiment dépendent étroitement d’un ensemble de facteurs qui seront soigneusement étudiés : 

  • L’isolation thermique de l’enveloppe du bâtiment est essentielle : murs, châssis, toiture, fondations. Les pertes thermiques étant proportionnelles à la différence de température intérieur/extérieur, la surface d’échange doit être minimisée (bâtiment compact) et le coefficient d’isolation optimisé (caractéristiques d’isolation homogènes entre les éléments).
  • Les ponts thermiques doivent être impérativement évités. Remarquons qu’une isolation extérieure laisse beaucoup moins de place aux ponts thermiques qu’une isolation intérieure.
  • L’étanchéité à l’air est à la fois essentielle et techniquement difficile à assurer sur la durée de vie du bâtiment. A cet égard, le béton coulé permet d’atteindre des performances remarquables. La pose des châssis, de pratique délicate doit être contrôlée en fin de chantier à l’aide d’une caméra thermique.
Concevoir & construire

3 : Choix des techniques thermiques

Choix des techniques thermiques

Le choix du tout électrique est le plus simple car il permet de traiter facilement les problèmes éventuels de surchauffe estivale. Pour les maisons individuelles le poêle à pellet en ventilation naturelle est une alternative possible mais qui nécessite de diffuser la chaleur produite de façon équilibrée dans toutes les pièces.

Quelques précisions sur les principaux équipements :

  • Pompe à chaleur (PAC) : Les PAC air/air sont les plus simples à mettre en œuvre. Cependant elles nécessitent le recours à un ballon thermodynamique pour le chauffage de l’eau sanitaire. La géothermie est plus performante mais aussi plus onéreuse et les problèmes de rafraîchissement sont plus difficilement traités.
  • Ballon eau sanitaire thermodynamique : Il sera installé lorsqu’il n’y a pas de PAC mixte type eau/eau ou air/eau.
  • Ventilation mécanique contrôlée (VMC) double flux. La VMC double flux assure un renouvellement constant de l’air, d’une part en extrayant l’air vicié des pièces humides, d’autre part en pulsant de l’air neuf. Grâce à son échangeur thermique la VMC double flux récupère plus de 90% de la chaleur de l’air vicié pour réchauffer le nouvel air entrant. Il est ainsi possible de renouveler l’air d’une habitation sans la refroidir.

Simplicité et durabilité

On retiendra que les conceptions simples sont les plus faciles à mettre en œuvre et à maintenir. Elles sont aussi les plus robustes. On s’efforcera notamment d’éviter les dépendances technologiques de coordination afin que chaque élément technique puisse être opéré indépendamment des autres.
Il n’est pas nécessaire d’investir dans des systèmes de contrôle thermique sophistiqués; un thermostat central à consigne fixe est suffisant. En effet un bâtiment zéro énergie dont le chauffage est coupé perdra moins d’un demi-degré par jour en plein hiver. La température intérieure moyenne est donc extrêmement stable. Elle fluctue naturellement entre le jour et la nuit d’un ou deux degrés autour d’une moyenne stable. Ce comportement résulte de l’effet VMC qui réalise un équilibre entre l’air extérieur plus frais d’environ huit degrés la nuit et les éventuels apports solaires en milieu de journée.

Concevoir & construire

4 : Des équipements basse énergie

Des équipements basse énergie

 

L’objectif zéro énergie plus exigeant impose d’utiliser des équipements électroménagers et un éclairage basse consommation (A+, A++ ou A+++).

 

A titre de repère, notons qu’un ménage européen consomme en moyenne 1800 kWh/an pour son usage domestique (éclairages, électroménagers, téléviseurs et autres appareils électroniques …). S’il fait le choix d’équipements ultra basse consommation (A+++) sa consommation peut être réduite d’un tiers, ce qui correspond environ à la production annuelle de deux panneaux photovoltaïques.

 

Nous recommandons aussi l’usage de récupérateurs de chaleur positionnés en sortie du bac de douche afin de réchauffer l’eau entrante.

 

De même, en raccordant le lave-vaisselle directement à l’eau chaude on économisera jusqu’à 200 kWh par an, sans surcoût d’installation ni contrainte d’utilisation.