Summary

    Title

    Pilot building #1 :

    Building with six zero-energy thermal apartments for rent

     

     

    Description

    This building project of 6 apartments in Evere (Brussels) was initiated in 2014. The site is particularly well exposed but the reduced size of the plot (134 m2) and its angular shape have brought strong constraints. The choice of the zero thermal energy goal was realistic assuming an optimal use of geothermal resources. Few real estate projects are perfectly smooth. With this one, the first shovel added a year of delays and 7% additional costs. Indeed, the initial intent to built upon existing foundations collapsed together with a whole section of the periferals walls of the former cellars. We had then to completely rebuild the foundations using 10-meter deep secant piles plugged in the sandy-clay soil of this district of Brussels.

     

    Technical sheet

    The heated floor surface is 510 m² for 440 m² of private apartment. The thermal installation has been dimensioned to achieve a performance of 35 kWh/m².year or 18 MWh/year for the whole building. In order to maximize the renewable energy potential of the plot, we have installed four 130m vertical geothermal probes.

     

    The building was then constructed by pouring concrete into insulating concret form :

    • Construction technique : Insulating concrete forms
    • Insulation walls: outer 25 cm EPS and inner 5 cm
    • PVC windows frame: Triple glazing coefficient U = 0.7
    • Slate roof insulated by 15 cm of Polyurethane

     

    The thermal control of the building and domestic hot water are provided by two heat pumps of 10.3 kW each. The use of two heat pumps maximizes photovoltaic self-consumption. For example, if PAC 1 runs from 10AM to 2PM and PAC 2 from 12PM to 4PM, the power consumption profile is well aligned with that of photovoltaic production. Overall we expect a self-consumption rate of at least 60%.

     

     

    Results and learnings

    The building is not yet fully occupied so these are preliminary conclusions.

     

    After a period of freezes of several days and without any heating the average building température still exceeds 12°C.

     

    The installation of the freecooling system proved to be complex to implement. The initial plumber team had to be replaced by more experienced colleagues when we realized that the expected performance was not achieved. Indeed many errors of installation and configuration had to be corrected generating significant delays.

     

    Insulation schema

     

     

    Thermic schema

     

     

    Electric schema

     

     

    Performance monitoring

    The metering system collects every 15 minutes energy consumption data, temperature and humidity of each apartment as well as for thermal systems (heat pumps, hot loops and free cooling).

Sommaire

    Titre

    Batiment pilote #1 :

    Collectif de six appartements zéro énergie thermique destinés à la location

     

     

    Description

    Ce projet de construction d’un collectif de 6 appartements sur la commune d’Evere (Bruxelles) a été initié en 2014. Le site est particulièrement bien exposé mais la taille réduite du terrain (134 m2) et sa forme angulaire ont amené des contraintes fortes. L’objectif zéro énergie thermique semblait réaliste avec une utilisation optimisée des ressources géothermiques. Rares sont les projets immobiliers qui se déroulent idéalement. Pour celui-ci, c’est au premier coup de pelleteuse que nous avons rajouté un an de délais et 7 % de surcoûts. En effet l’idée initiale d’une reprise des fondations existantes s’est effondrée en même temps que tout un pan des murs des anciennes caves. Nous avons donc dû entièrement reconstruire les fondations grâce l’aide des pieux sécants profonds de 10 mètres dans le sol argilo-sableux de ce quartier de Bruxelles.

     

    Fiche technique

    La surface chauffée est de 510 m² pour 440 m² de logement habitable. Les installations thermiques ont été dimensionnées pour un objectif de 35 kWh/m².an soit 18 MWh/an pour l’ensemble du bâtiment. Afin de maximiser le potentiel en énergie renouvelable du site nous l’avons équipé de quatre sondes géothermiques verticales de 130 m.

     

    Le bâtiment a ensuite été construit par coulage de béton dans des blocs de coffrages isolants :

    • Technique de construction : Blocs de coffrage isolants
    • Isolation murs : extérieure 25 cm EPS et intérieure 5 cm
    • Châssis PVC : Triple vitrage coefficient U=0,7
    • Toiture en ardoises isolée par 15 cm de Polyuréthane

     

    Le contrôle thermique du bâtiment et l’eau chaude sanitaire sont assurés par deux pompes à chaleur de 10,3 kW chacune. L’usage de deux pompes à chaleur permet de maximiser l’autoconsommation photovoltaïque. Par exemple si la PAC 1 fonctionne de 10h à 14h et la PAC 2 de 12h à 16h le profil de consommation électrique est similaire à celui de la production photovoltaïque. Globalement nous attendons un taux d’autoconsommation d’au moins 60 %.

     

     

    Résultats et enseignements

    Le bâtiment n’étant pas encore entièrement occupé il s’agit donc de conclusions préliminaires.

     

    Après une période de gel de plusieurs jours et sans aucun chauffage, la température moyenne du bâtiment dépasse toujours 12 °C.

     

    L'installation du système de freecooling dans un contexte d’un bâtiment collectif c'est avéré complexe à mettre en œuvre. L’équipe de plombiers initiale à du être remplacée par des collègues plus expérimentés lorsque nous avons réalisé que les performances attendues n’étaient pas obtenue. En effet de nombreuses erreur d’installation et de configuration on du être corrigées générant d’importants délais.

     

    Schéma d’isolation

     

     

    Schéma thermique

     

     

    Schéma électrique

     

     

    Contrôle des performances

    Le système de mesure déployé collecte toutes les 15 minutes les données de consommation énergétique, la température et l’humidité de chaque appartement ainsi que les flux thermiques (pompes a chaleur, boucles chaudes et free cooling).